NASM Annual Meeting 2017: Election, Appointments, Appreciation

December 2017


Members and friends of NASM gathered in Scottsdale, Arizona in November for the Ninety-Third Annual Meeting of the Association. NASM extends its deepest appreciation to all those who were part of the volunteer effort that makes these meetings succeed, an effort that includes preparing and making presentations, leading discussion, sharing expertise and insight, hosting receptions, and much more.


Following action by the Membership and the Board of Directors, subsequent to elections held in Regions 3, 4, 5, 6, and 7 during the 2017 Annual Meeting, and pursuant to guidelines articulated in the NASM Bylaws, we are pleased to announce the election, re-election, or appointment of the following individuals to office in NASM:

Tayloe Harding, University of South Carolina (2020)

Non-Degree-Granting Member, Board of Directors
Kirsten Morgan, The Diller-Quaile School of Music (2020)

Chair, Commission on Community College Accreditation
Kevin J. Dobreff, Grand Rapids Community College (2020)

Members, Commission on Accreditation
C. Brad Foley, University of Oregon (2020)
David Gier, University of Iowa (2020)
Calvin Hofer, Colorado Mesa University (2020)
Randi L’Hommedieu, Central Michigan University (2020)
Ronda M. Mains, University of Arkansas (2020)
Karl Paulnack, Ithaca College (2020)

Member, Committee on Ethics
Patricia J. Flowers, Florida State University (2020)

Chair, Nominating Committee
Faun Tanenbaum Tiedge, Linfield College (2018)

Members, Nominating Committee
Jeffrey E. Bush, James Madison University (2018)
Kathryn L. Fouse, Samford University (2018)
Washington Garcia, University of Nebraska at Omaha (2018)
Mary Ellen Poole, University of Texas at Austin (2018)

Regional Officers
Region 3
Vice Chair: Julia Gaines, University of Missouri, Columbia (2018)
Secretary: Julie C. Combs, Missouri State University (2018)

Region 4
Chair: Mark Smith, Chicago State University (2020)
Vice Chair: Alison Shaw, University of Wisconsin Oshkosh (2020)
Secretary: Janet Hathaway, Northern Illinois University (2020)

Region 5
Chair: Kathleen Hacker, University of Indianapolis (2020)
Vice Chair: Debra S. Burns, Indiana University – Purdue University, Indianapolis (2020)
Secretary: William L. Ballenger, The Ohio State University (2020)

Region 6

Chair: Armenio Suzano, Jr., Houghton College (2020)
Vice Chair: Susan Tusing, Marshall University (2020)
Secretary: Curt Scheib, Seton Hill University (2020)

Region 7

Secretary: TBA (2019)



The Association wishes to express its deepest thanks to those individuals who completed service to NASM in elected or appointed office in November 2017:

Non-Degree-Granting Member, Board of Directors
Kate M. Ransom, The Music School of Delaware

Chair, Commission on Community College Accreditation
William A. Meckley, Schenectady County Community College

Members, Commission on Accreditation
Nancy Cochran, University of Denver
T. Clark Saunders, The Hartt School

Public Member, Commissions on Accreditation and Board of Directors
Cari Peretzman, Lewisville, Texas

Chair, Committee on Ethics
Lila Noonkester, Lander University

Chair, Nominating Committee
Judy Bundra, Cleveland Institute of Music

Members, Nominating Committee
Earnest L. Lamb, Minnesota State University Moorhead
Susan D. Van Vorst, Baldwin Wallace University

Regional Officers

Region 4

Chair: Don Reddick, Olivet Nazarene University

Secretary: Shellie Gregorich, Eastern Illinois University

Region 5
Secretary: Jeffrey Wright, Anderson University (Indiana)

Region 6
Secretary: Deborah Simmons, Manchester Community College

NASM is indebted to all of these exceptional individuals for their dedication and volunteer spirit, without which the Association’s work could not go forward.

Lists of all NASM officers, commissioners, and committee members can be seen under “About NASM.”