NASM Annual Meeting 2019 Election Appointments Appreciation

December 2019


Members and friends of NASM gathered in Chicago, Illinois in November for the Ninety-Fifth Annual Meeting. The Association extends deepest appreciation to all those who were part of the volunteer effort that makes these meetings successful, an effort that includes preparing and making presentations, leading discussion, sharing expertise and insight, and much more.


Subsequent to action by the Membership and the Board of Directors, and elections in Regions 7, 8, and 9 during the 2019 Annual Meeting, we are pleased to announce the election, re-election, or appointment of the following individuals to office in NASM:

Jeffrey L. Pappas, University of Tennessee (2022)

Members, Board of Directors (Regional Chairs)
Isaiah R. McGee, Claflin University (Region 7) (2022)
Julia Mortyakova, Mississippi University for Women (Region 8) (2022)
Thomas R. Webster, East Texas Baptist University (Region 9) (2022)

Member, Commission on Community College Accreditation
Cynthia Bridges, Del Mar College (2022)

Chair, Commission on Accreditation
Peter T. Witte, University of the Pacific (2022)

Associate Chair, Commission on Accreditation
David Gier, University of Michigan (2022)

Members, Commission on Accreditation
Dennis W. AsKew, University of North Carolina at Greensboro (2022)
Caterina Bristol, Alabama State University (2020)
Micheál Houlahan, Millersville University of Pennsylvania (2022)
Keith Jackson, West Virginia University (2022)
Todd Queen, Louisiana State University (2022)
Todd E. Sullivan, Northern Arizona University (2022)

Chair, Nominating Committee
Paula A. Grissom-Broughton, Spelman College 

Members, Nominating Committee
George A. Boespflug, Biola University
Robert L. Elliott, Tennessee State University
Susan Muscarella, California Jazz Conservatory
Scott Turpen, University of Wyoming

Member, Committee on Ethics
Vanessa Sielert, University of Idaho


The Association wishes to express its deepest thanks to those individuals who left office in NASM in 2019 after serving one or more terms:

Members, Board of Directors (Regional Chairs)
John P. Henry, Jr., North Carolina A&T State University (Region 7)
Caterina Bristol, Alabama State University (Region 8)
David E. Scott, Texas A&M University – Commerce (Region 9) 

Associate Chair pro tempore, Commission on Accreditation
James C. Scott, University of North Texas

Members, Commission on Accreditation
Kay Hoke, Gettysburg College
Linda Apple Monson, George Mason University
Michael R. Sitton, The Crane School of Music
Robert Walzel, University of Kansas 

Member pro tempore, Committee on Ethics
Julia C. Combs, Missouri State University

Chair, Nominating Committee
Mary Ellen Poole, University of Texas at Austin

Members, Nominating Committee
Susan C. Cook, University of Wisconsin – Madison
Paula A. Grissom-Broughton, Spelman College
Beth Cram Porter, Cedarville University
Lucia Unrau, Murray State University

NASM is indebted to these exceptional individuals for their dedication and volunteer spirit, without which the Association’s work could not go forward.

Lists of all NASM officers, commissioners, and committee members can be seen under “About NASM.”