Public Notice: Institutions Scheduled for Comprehensive NASM Accreditation Review

June 12, 2017

As required by the NASM Rules of Practice and Procedure, the National Association of Schools of Music provides notice that the institutions listed below are as of this date scheduled for a comprehensive NASM review during the Commission meetings of November 12-17, 2017.

The list contains only those institutions being considered for accreditation or continuation of accreditation based on a full institutional self-study and an NASM on-site visit.

As a part of the comprehensive review, NASM procedures include the opportunity for third-party comment about one issue only: an institution’s qualifications with regard to NASM standards as published in the current Handbook of the Association. Please note that third-party comment is not a substitute for NASM procedures for filing complaints regarding a member institution.

The “Rules and Procedures for Third-Party Comment” govern NASM third-party comment procedures and establish eligibility and other requirements for Commission and institutional reviews of third-party-comment.

Anyone wishing to file third-party comment eligible for consideration by the Commission must read and abide by these rules. All third-party comment must be filed using the “NASM Official Third-Party Comment Form.”

The institution will be given an opportunity to review and respond to any third-party comment eligible for Commission review under the rules and procedures cited above.

To be reviewed at the cited Commission meeting, any third-party comment about any institution listed herein must be received by the NASM National Office no later than 5:00 p.m. EST on July 17, 2017.

As of this date, the following institutions are scheduled for comprehensive review during the November 2017 meetings of the NASM Commission on Accreditation:

Anderson University (South Carolina) Anderson, SC
Anna Maria College Paxton, MA
Anoka-Ramsey Community College Coon Rapids, MN
Chapman University Orange, CA
Colorado Christian University Lakewood, CO
Community College of Rhode Island Warwick, RI
Converse College Spartanburg, SC
Cornerstone University Grand Rapids, MI
Doane University Crete, NE
Duquesne University Pittsburgh, PA
Indiana University – Purdue University, Indianapolis Indianapolis, IN
Kentucky State University Frankfort, KY
Luther College Decorah, IA
Nassau Community College Garden City, NY
North Park University Chicago, IL
Northern Arizona University Flagstaff, AZ
Northern Michigan University Marquette, MI
Pepperdine University Malibu, CA
Prairie View A&M University Prairie View, TX
Rhode Island College Providence, RI
Sam Houston State University Huntsville, TX
Southern Arkansas University Magnolia, AR
Southern Nazarene University Bethany, OK
Southern University and A&M College Baton Rouge, LA
Southern Utah University Cedar City, UT
Southwest Minnesota State University Marshall, MN
Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary Fort Worth, TX
Taylor University Upland, IN
Tennessee State University Nashville, TN
Texas A&M University – Kingsville Kingsville, TX
The Colburn School Los Angeles, CA
The Players School of Music Clearwater, FL
University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff Pine Bluff, AR
University of Nebraska at Omaha Omaha, NE
University of North Carolina at Pembroke Pembroke, NC
University of Saint Thomas Saint Paul, MN
University of South Dakota Vermillion, SD
University of Tampa Tampa, FL
University of Virginia’s College at Wise Wise, VA
University of Wisconsin – Superior Superior, WI
Wayne State College Wayne, NE