Ann B. Stutes

Member, Commission on Accreditation
Re-elected November 2015, term ends November 2018

Ann B. Stutes serves as Academic Dean of the School of Music at Wayland Baptist University. She holds the Shaw Professorship of Music and coordinates the music theory curriculum in addition to her administrative duties. A past president of the Texas Association of Music Schools, she currently participates in the organization as well as the Texas Music Educators Association. She has also served on the administrative board of the Texas Society for Music Theory.

Her research interests include undergraduate music theory pedagogy and developing critical thinking initiatives both in music degree programs and in curricula across the institution. Previously she served as a summer theory faculty member at the Interlochen Center for the Arts and on the faculty at Texas Tech University. She is a violist, an active church musician, and a member of the local symphony board of directors. Recently she received the Silver Star award for community arts leadership. She also serves NASM as a visiting evaluator and on the Commission on Accreditation.

Professor Stutes holds a Doctor of Philosophy in Fine Arts with an emphasis in Music Theory from Texas Tech University, a Master of Music in Music Theory/Composition from Northern Illinois University, and a Bachelor of Music in Music Theory from Southwestern University.

Updated December 2015