Reports of the Accrediting Commissions

National Association of Schools of Music December 2015

NEW MEMBERS

Subsequent to action by the Commission on Community College Accreditation and the Commission on Accreditation in November 2015, NASM is pleased to welcome the following institution as a new member:

NEW INSTITUTION GRANTED ASSOCIATE MEMBERSHIP

Liberty University

1971 University Boulevard Lynchburg, VA 24502

Vernon Whaley Dean, School of Music

Formal Commission Reports. The official reports of actions taken by the NASM Commission on Community College Accreditation and the Commission on Accreditation at its meetings of November 2015 begins on the following page.

NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF SCHOOLS OF MUSIC

REPORT OF THE COMMISSION ON COMMUNITY COLLEGE ACCREDITATION

William A. Meckley, Chair

November 2015

Action was deferred on two (2) institutions applying for Membership.

After positive action by the Commission on Community College Accreditation, the following institutions were granted renewal of Membership:

Grand Rapids Community College Howard Community College Sinclair Community College William Rainey Harper College

A Progress Report was acknowledged from one (1) institution recently granted renewal of Membership.

One (1) program was granted Plan Approval.

NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF SCHOOLS OF MUSIC

REPORT OF THE COMMISSION ON ACCREDITATION

Dan Dressen, Chair

Michael D. Wilder, Associate Chair

November 2015

After positive action by the Commission on Accreditation, the following institution was granted Associate Membership:

Liberty University

Action was deferred on five (5) institutions applying for Membership.

Progress Reports were accepted from three (3) institutions recently granted Membership.

After positive action by the Commission on Accreditation, the following institutions were granted renewal of Membership:

Austin Peay State University Central College Harding University Indiana University - Purdue University, Fort Wayne **Kutztown University of Pennsylvania** Lee University Loyola University Minnesota State University Mankato **New World Symphony North Greenville University Rowan University** Samford University Southern Baptist Theological Seminary Southwestern Oklahoma State University State University of New York, New Paltz **University of Central Florida** University of North Carolina at Greensboro Western Michigan University Willamette University

Action was deferred on fifty-five (55) institutions applying for renewal of Membership.

Progress Reports were accepted from fourteen (14) institutions and acknowledged from two (2) institutions recently granted renewal of Membership.

Report of the Commission on Accreditation — November 2015 (continued)

Four (4) applications were approved for Substantive Change.

Action was deferred on five (5) applications for Substantive Change.

Two (2) programs were granted Basic Listing.

Seventy-two (72) programs and degrees were granted Plan Approval.

Action was deferred on thirty-eight (38) programs and degrees submitted for Plan Approval.

A Progress Report was accepted from one (1) institution recently granted Plan Approval.

Fifty-five (55) programs and degrees were granted Final Approval for Listing.

Action was deferred on five (5) programs and degrees submitted for Final Approval for Listing.

Progress Reports were accepted from two (2) institutions recently granted Final Approval for Listing.

Three (3) institutions were notified regarding failure to submit the 2014-2015 HEADS Data Survey.

Six (6) institutions were granted second-year postponements for reaccreditation.

One (1) institution was granted a fourth- and fifth- year postponement for reaccreditation.

Progress Reports were accepted from three (3) institutions recently granted postponement for reaccreditation.

California Institute of the Arts, George Washington University, Mount Saint Joseph University, and Oberlin College withdrew from Membership during the 2014-2015 academic year.