NASM Annual Meeting 2020 Election Appointments Appreciation

December 2020


In light of national conditions due to the effects of the coronavirus pandemic, the on-site aspects of the NASM Annual Meeting scheduled for November 15–24, 2020 in Scottsdale, Arizona were cancelled. We miss the opportunity to have connected in person but look forward with anticipation to welcoming and working with members and friends at the 2021 NASM Annual Meeting in Orlando, Florida.


Subsequent to action conducted via electronic means by the Membership, the Board of Directors, and Regions as appropriate, we are pleased to announce the election, re-election, or appointment of the following individuals to office in NASM:

Mary Ellen Poole, University of Texas at Austin

Non-Degree-Granting Member, Board of Directors
Kirsten Morgan, The Diller-Quaile School of Music

Members, Board of Directors (Regional Chairs)
Dean Luethi, Washington State University (Region 2)
Alison Shaw, University of Wisconsin Oshkosh (Region 4)
Susan D. Van Vorst, Baldwin Wallace University (Region 5)
Susan Tusing, Marshall University (Region 6)

Chair, Commission on Community College Accreditation
Kevin J. Dobreff, Grand Rapids Community College

Members, Commission on Accreditation
Caterina Bristol, Alabama State University
Kathleen Hacker, University of Indianapolis
Trilla Lyerla, Baker University
Ronda M. Mains, University of Arkansas
Kristen Queen, Texas Christian University
David E. Scott, Texas A&M University – Commerce
Dori Waggoner, Central Methodist University

Chair, Nominating Committee
Robert L. Elliott, Tennessee State University

Members, Nominating Committee
Michael L. Benson, Malone University
Lori Hicks, Kentucky State University
Stephen P. Johnson, Azusa Pacific University
Heather Landes, Arizona State University

Member, Committee on Ethics
Earnest L. Lamb, Minnesota State University Moorhead


The Association wishes to express its deepest appreciation to those individuals who completed terms of office and service as elected or appointed officials in 2020 as noted below:

Tayloe Harding, University of South Carolina

Members, Board of Directors
Mark Smith, Chicago State University, Chair, Region 4
Kathleen Hacker, University of Indianapolis, Chair, Region 5

Members, Commission on Accreditation
Brad Foley, University of Oregon
Calvin Hofer, Colorado Mesa University
Edward Kocher, Duquesne University, pro tempore
Karl Paulnack, Ithaca College
Ann B. Stutes, Wayland Baptist University, pro tempore

Public Member, Commissions on Accreditation and Board of Directors
Kelly Lormore, Indianapolis, Indiana

Chair, Nominating Committee
Paula A. Grissom-Broughton, Spelman College

Members, Nominating Committee
George A. Boespflug, Biola University
Robert L. Elliott, Tennessee State University
Susan Muscarella, California Jazz Conservatory
J. Scott Turpen, University of Wyoming

Member, Committee on Ethics
Julia C. Combs, Missouri State University, pro tempore

NASM is indebted to these exceptional individuals for their dedication and volunteer spirit, without which the Association’s work could not go forward.

Lists of NASM Officers, Commissioners, and Committee Members may be found under “About NASM.”