Board of Directors

Contact with the Board of Directors should be made through the NASM National Office.

The Board of Directors is composed of the President, Vice President, Treasurer, Secretary, the Immediate Past President, the Chair and the Associate Chair of the Commission on Accreditation, the Chair of the Commission on Community College Accreditation, a Non-Degree-Granting Member, the nine Regional Chairs, and three Public Members. With the exception of the Public Members, the Board is appropriately balanced to represent a variety of music backgrounds and perspectives. The Executive Director is an ex officio, non-voting member of the Board of Directors.

The Board of Directors shall:

  • Exercise the various responsibilities of the Board as stipulated in the Bylaws.
  • Act in an advisory capacity to the Executive Committee in its jurisdiction over and responsibility for the executive functions of the Association.
  • Review the annual report of the Association’s financial position as prepared by the Association’s official auditors.
  • Establish and revise Part I of the Rules of Practice and Procedure in the NASM Handbook following consultation with accredited institutional members.
  • Address the needs of the membership, recognizing the diversity as well as the common basic purposes of all member institutions.
  • Review and, as appropriate, act on proposals presented by any ad hoc committees established by the Board to address issues that the Bylaws indicate are under the authority of the Board.

NASM Board of Directors 2022-2023:

Michael D. Wilder, President (2024)
Wheaton College

Tayloe HardingVice President (2024)
University of South Carolina

Heather Landes, Treasurer (2025)
Arizona State University

Mary Ellen PooleSecretary (2023)
Carnegie Mellon University

Immediate Past President (Vacant)

Kirsten Morgan, Non-Degree-Granting Member, Board of Directors (2023)
The Diller-Quaile School of Music

Kevin J. Dobreff, Chair, Commission on Community College Accreditation (2023)
Grand Rapids Community College

H. Keith Jackson, Chair, Commission on Accreditation (2025)
West Virginia University

Daniel Goble, Associate ChairCommission on Accreditation (2025)
Colorado State University

Gary Cobb, Vice Chair, Region 1 (2023)
Pepperdine University

Linda KlineChair, Region 2 (2024)
Boise State University

Eric Honour, Chair, Region 3 (2024)
University of Central Missouri

Andrew R. Glendening, Chair, Region 4 (2023)
Northern Illinois University

Susan D. Van Vorst, Chair, Region 5 (2023)
Baldwin Wallace University

David Davies, Chair, Region 6 (2023)
Houghton College

Linda Apple Monson, Chair, Region 7 (2025)
George Mason University

Laura M. Moore, Chair, Region 8 (2025)
University of South Alabama

Jeff Bright, Chair, Region 9 (2025)
Arkansas Tech University

Karen P. Moynahan, Executive Director, ex officio

Public Members:

Lauren Frampton
Corinth, Texas

Robert A. Hudak
Greenville, North Carolina

Fran Tucker
Herndon, Virginia